Writing a novel, in a month

Standard

I have taken up the challenge, and embarked on the annual writing pilgrimage known as Nanowrimo. What that means is that I will attempt, along with thousands of others around the world, to write a 50,000 word novel in a month’s time, that month being November. This will of course be more of a first draft but it paves the way forward to an eventual completed novel.

For me this is a great opportunity to get one of the many stories that I have been wanting to write, with only its initial idea down, to a stage where I can actually have the complete story formed, with only editing and perfectionism in the way of having a published novel.

To date I have the working title of “A World At End”, with a possible change in mind, and a starting framework and back story to drive the narrative to a conclusion. What that conclusion is I have, as of yet, no idea. I think that that is the wonder and the mystery of being an author, that you don’t always know how the story that you are writing will end, and therein too lies the glory of it.

So here is to my attempt at this mighty writing summit and may you too profit from my, hopeful and timely, success.

– S.Tarr

2 thoughts on “Writing a novel, in a month

    • Thanks, I need a lot of that. 🙂 The odds are already stacking up against me, with work especially, but I will press on and face this Dragon, and perhaps even befriend him like the good Farmer Giles of Ham befriended the dragon, whatshisname, Chrysophylax. 🙂

Leave a Reply

