Life, Time, and The Future

Standard

Sunday, 01 January 2017.

It’s been a while.

Since my last blog entry, I went back to Japan again, during late November and early December, and spent a most wonderful 3 weeks in Tokyo and Beppu. Throughout the time leading up to that trip, I had been constantly busy, either with work or with travelling around the Western Cape province of South Africa, but mostly I was busy with work, all the while being on an adventure with my girl.

Earlier in the year, I left my job of 13 years and embarked on a 3-month journey through Japan, a country which I always wanted to visit but never thought I really would be able to. I had co-founded the company but felt it was time for me to move on and to explore the many other parts of life that was out there. I was fortunate enough to have enough money saved for the trip, and for the few months that followed that but, eventually, I would have to start working again, the dread of any traveller.

Again, I am fortunate enough to be in a profession that allows me to work remotely, that of a programmer, and I have been freelancing ever since I left the company. Although being a freelancer is great, giving you freedom of movement and compensation at a higher rate, you end up having to do all the admin, always being on the lookout for the next job, and then, when all is done, to get your clients to actually pay you.

I was also very fortunate to meet a wonderful girl in Japan, due to many factors, which I would call destiny. But destiny holds many twists and turns and during our last trip to Japan, after she joined me in South Africa for 3 months, we decided that it would be better for her to remain in Japan while I returned to South Africa to secure more work and to devise our plans for the future. It was really hard for me to leave her behind but I did so with the hope and determination that we will be together again.

What I discovered during the last year was that most of the plans that we make do not work out exactly as we planned, or they often do not work out at all. It is then easy for us to get despondent and depressed and not to plan anything or care for anything anymore, but without hope, without plans for a good future, what is the point and our reason for living?

Therefore, I will not stop hoping, dreaming and planning ahead because plans do often work out and dreams do sometimes come true, and we never know if the next time will be that time when it happens if we do not try again this time.

May you continue, too, on your quest and do not grow weary when you get defeated but stand up, have faith in love, trust in God, and move on forward into the future, into the future with your head high and your dreams true.

Starr

